## Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Directors Tri-County River Valley Development Authority December 19, 2019 Peoria, Illinois

## **Members Present**

Bill Atkins, Tazewell County
Jimmy Dillon, Peoria County Appointment
Mike Everett, Governor Appointee (Tazewell)
Ty Livingston, City of East Peoria
Deborah Roethler, City of Peoria
Mark Rothert, City of Pekin
Tim Schoon, Woodford County Appointment
Michael Stevens, Director, IDNR

## **Members Absent**

Laraine Bryson, Governor Appointee (Peoria) Marty Helfers, Governor Appointee (Peoria) Tony Rolando, DCEO Designee

## **Others Present**

Warren Ribley, Executive Director Andrew Hamilton, TRVDA Jeff Torricelli, TRVDA

The meeting was called to order at 12:05 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was said. Roll call was made identifying that a quorum was present. It was moved and seconded to approve the agenda. The motion carried. It was moved and seconded to approve the minutes of the October 18, 2017 meeting and the minutes and actions of all previous meetings as presented. The motion carried. It was moved and seconded to approve the Treasurer's report as presented. The motion carried.

Old Business - Staff presented an update and briefing on the newly reconstituted Board of Director appointments and the effort to reinvigorate the Board in pursuit of bond project opportunities to assist regional economic development efforts in the tri-county area. Several items were presented for consideration and discussion regarding operations and administration of the Board including the designation of location of the TRVDA official headquarters; a review of the current Board appointments, verification of contact information and term of appointments; consideration of the election of Officers; consideration of the appointments of Executive Director and administrative staff; briefing on the filing of Statements of Economic Interest; and approval of the Project Application and fee schedule. Upon discussion, it was agreed to retain the official headquarters address at 456 Fulton Street, Suite 101 Peoria but to hold Board meetings at noon on the second Thursday of each month, as needed, at The Labor Temple given ease of access and parking. Upon discussion a slate of Officers was presented to include Jimmy Dillon. Chairperson, Laraine Bryson, Vice Chairperson, Ty Livingston, Secretary and Tim Schoon, Treasurer. It was moved and seconded to elect the Officers as presented. The motion carried. A proposal was presented for consideration to adjust the administrative staff of the Authority under which Warren Ribley would become Executive Director. Upon discussion of the revised administrative structure, including a proposed compensation structure for the administrative

staff, a motion was made and seconded to name Warren Ribley as Executive Director. The motion carried. Staff agreed to present contracts at the next meeting for final consideration. A discussion ensued about the composition of the Board going forward. General agreement supported a Board composition that was balanced with representation from community-based organizations, organized labor and economic development professionals, as well as a balance of gender and ethnicity. To accomplish this objective, a suggestion was made and discussed to amend the organizational by-laws to allow for ex-officio members of the Board. The Executive Director was asked to research the question and present back to the Board in a future meeting. Discussions also centered around how to better market the products and services of the Authority and generally broaden awareness of how the Authority can be a catalyst to support regional economic development.

**New Business-** Staff offered and explained several Resolutions for consideration designed to update the policies and procedures of the Authority.

**Resolution 19-001-** A Resolution to establish a policy prohibiting sexual harassment.

**Resolution 19-002-** A Resolution to establish a policy to prevent conflicts of interest and establish a code of ethical conduct.

**Resolution 19-003-** A Resolution to establish a Procurement Policy governing for the procurement of contracts for legal, financial, and other professional and artistic services.

**Resolution 19-004-** A Resolution establishing responsibilities for Post-Closing Policies and Procedures governing Bond Transactions approved and closed in the name of the Authority.

**Resolution 19-005-** A Resolution establishing a Records Retention Policy governing the maintenance and preservation of official records of the Authority.

Thereupon, Chairman Dillon presented, and the Executive Director read the Resolutions. Chairman Dillon moved and Member Atkins seconded that the Resolutions as presented and read be adopted on a single roll call. Following discussion, the Chairman directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the Resolutions. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Bill Atkins, Jimmy Dillon, Mike Everett, Ty Livingston, Deborah Roethler, Mark Rothert, Tim Schoon and Michael Stevens. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Laraine Bryson, Marty Helfers, and Tony Rolando. WHEREUPON, Chairman Dillon declared the motion carried and the Resolutions adopted and did direct the Secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

**Resolution 19-006 Regarding the Scheduling of Meetings** - Staff presented a Resolution Regarding the Scheduling of Meetings. Upon discussion, it was recommended to hold meetings of the Authority on the second Thursday of the month at noon, twelve pm. It was moved and seconded to approve the resolution as presented. Following discussion, the motion carried, and the Executive Director was directed to distribute the schedule of meetings to each Board member.

With no further business, it was moved and seconded to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 1:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Ty Livingston, Secretary